NaPoWriMo Days 27-30….finished!

And with this post the month-long poetry challenge is finished. Finals are still not over, but after Tuesday they will be. What a month.

For Day 27:

Poor, Marvelous Words

The bards of English verse have taught my pen
Much more of life and love than I’d admit.
They reach from centuries to speak again

And I admire wordsmiths I’ve not met.
They speak plain truth and life in simple words
And touch on human nature that rings true

In every age. How marvelous the chords

They strike beyond the old age into new.

Indriso, inspired by: “Yes, I read. I have that absurd habit. I like beautiful poems, moving poetry, and all the beyond of that poetry. I am extraordinarily sensitive to these poor, marvelous words left in our dark night by a few men I never knew.”–Louis Aragon

For Day 28:

My Way is Not Hidden

Though I’m growing weary
And roads grow longer still
And time, it mars my body
And sorrow wounds my will

I stand on solid mountains
Though winds howl against their faces
And bitterness becomes the sun
In light of ancient graces.

Why do I lament bitterly
As though I’m hid away
From eyes of God, or chastened?
I fade not into gray

For God grows neither weary
Nor can he be outdone.
I’m strengthened kindly, wholly
When I belong to such a one.

Inspired by Isaiah 40:27-29:

Why do you say, O Jacob,
and speak, O Israel,
“My way is hidden from the Lord,
and my right is disregarded by my God”?
Have you not known? Have you not heard?
The Lord is the everlasting God,
the Creator of the ends of the earth.
He does not faint or grow weary;
his understanding is unsearchable.
He gives power to the faint,
and to him who has no might he increases strength.

For Day 29:

Invincible Summer

Always full of love
Never without hope
this is the very knot
at the end of my rope.

Never too far gone,
Never in the grip
of winter for too long.
See how summer rips

The soul clean out of fear
and into scattered beams
of sunlight dancing brightly
across our very dreams.

For in the midst of winter
with its darkened chill
there remains triumphant
a summer in me still.

Inspired by: “In the midst of winter, I found there was within me an invincible summer.”–Albert Camus

For Day 30:

Every Common Bush

And here I stand on cliff’s edge one last time.
Perhaps I leap; and yet perhaps I climb.

There’s no more to be said for where I stand,
In solitude and guarded all around.
The very cosmos may well fill my hands
As I, the two-fold creature on the ground
Look up and see my choices through the storm
Not unaware that nature thrills my soul
As soul and matter touch, lovely and warm
Like trees aflame with God, remaining whole.
You cannot say the soul is all alone
And matter nothing; nor the other way.
For we with both must see and love the known,
Until in light of glory, we decay.

Reverse sonnet, inspired by: “Earth’s crammed with heaven,/And every common bush afire with God;/ But only he who sees, takes off his shoes.” –From “Aurora Leigh” by Elizabeth Barrett Browning. Actually, inspired by the whole 86th part of “Aurora Leigh.

    Thanks for following along as I completed the NaPoWriMo challenge! I appreciate your reading and supporting. If you participated, tell me in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

